Select grade below

Round 15 | Match Report

Wednesday, July 21, 2021 - 3:51 PM

East Fremantle have been defeated by West Perth in a 5-point thriller at Provident Financial Oval thanks to a last second Alexandre goal. 

The Sharks let go of a 29-point lead in a see-sawing affair, which the Falcons later led by 28-points before the Sharks regained the lead once again with 2 minutes to go. 

The Sharks 13.7 (85) to 12.18 (90) loss mirrored last years fixture between the two sides where East Fremantle led by 32 before eventually going down by four points late in the game. 

The Sharks will be ruing the 57-point turn around, which took place from the 10-minute mark of the second term until the 30-minute term of the third term, in addition to the falcons final second goal with the result almost eliminating the club’s finals chances.  

Last year’s Lynn Medallist, Jarrad Jansen, was adjudged the PetraClean player of the Day following his impressive 24-disposal, 10 mark and nine tackle game against the Falcons. Jansen also recorded nine hit outs and four inside-50’s and was named in the WAFL Team of the Week. 

Over the past month Jansen has hit form averaging 23 disposals, 4 marks and 6 tackles a game. 

 Cameron Eardley continued his impressive 2021 form collecting 26 disposals, six marks and four inside-50’s while Blaine Boekhorst was named amongst the best on ground as he tallied 24 disposals and four inside-50’s. 

Kyle Baskerville continued his purple-patch to record 22 disposals and an impressive seven tackles while Timothy Bockman had 12 disposals and six tackles. 

Finn Gorringe was impressive in defence and had an absorbing battle with Keegan Knott as while Max Murphy played back and kicked a goal from his 13 disposals. 

Lachlan Bailey kicked his first goal of the season and finished with four majors while Alex Montauban and Tim Bockman both kicked 2 goals apiece. 

The Sharks will travel to Revo Fitness Stadium this weekend to take on the second place Claremont Tigers. Bill Monaghan’s side will be looking to return to the winners list and defeat Claremont for the first time in almost five years. 

Goals: 4 - L Bailey 2 - A Montauban, T Monaghan 1 - M Murphy, C Eardley, B Boekhorst, T Bockman, L English 

Best: L Bailey, J Jansen, F Gorringe, M Murphy, B Boekhorst